Hoteles Acacias Brujas
Hotel Acacia Brugge: tourism

History & info

Sights of Bruges

The historic city centre was added to the Unesco’s World Heritage List. The current city boundaries still coincide exactly with those of the medieval city centre, and the spaces and structures that were so typical of Bruges in the past have been preserved. This, however, does not mean that there is no room for modern architecture and modern work and living spaces.

Take your time to walk through busy squares, refreshing parks and quiet, intimate cobbled streets, and do not forget to visit the modest almshouses as well as the imposing patrician’s homes!

Musea belonging to the City of Bruges

One of the great charms of the museum collection of the City of Bruges is its splendid diversity: from the Flemish Primitives to contemporary art, from classic ‘fi ne arts’ to archaeological fi nds, furniture, silver, folklore… In short, something for everyone!

Artistic works from the 15th to 21st century are grouped in the Groeninge Museum and the Arents House. In Forum + [Concertgebouw], which is linked to the Groeninge Museum, exhibitions of contemporary art are held every three months.

The Bruggemuseum (Bruges Museum) is a general title encompassing all the different historical museums: Gruuthuse, the Welcome Church of Our Lady, the Archaeological Museum, the Gentpoort, the Belfry, the Town Hall and of the Liberty of Bruges. Here you can fi nd a veritable treasure trove of art works!

This is also true of the Hospitaalmuseum, in Memling in Sint-Jan and in Our Lady of the Potteries. Memling in Sint-Jan (the former St John’s Hospital) is famous for its collection of paintings by the great master of the Flemish Primitives, Hans Memling, while Our Lady of the Potteries is better known for its Baroque church and its outstanding silverwork.

The picturesque St. Anna Quarter of the city features both the charming Museum of Folklore and the two medieval windmills of the Kruisvest: the Koelewei (Cool Meadow) Mill and the Sint-Janshuis (St. John’s House) Mill. The Guido Gezelle Museum is one of the most important literary museums in all Flanders.

Private Museums

Beguine’s House 

The Beguine’s House provides a good picture of the day-to-day life of the former inhabitants.

ADDRESS : Begijnhof, Wijngaardstraat, 8000 Brugge Live map


Bladelin Court 

Built ca 1440 by Pieter Bladelin, treasurer of the Order of the Golden Fleece. The walls surrounding the charming inner garden show nice stone medallions representing portraits of the former inhabitants.

ADDRESS : Hof Bladelin, Naaldenstraat 19, 8000 Brugge Live map


Basilica of the Holy Blood 

Double chapel.
On ground level : St. Basil’s Chapel (1139-1149) in roman style. The first floor chapel, converted into gothic style in the 15th century, contains a.o. the famous Relic of the Holy Blood (worship : every Friday). Church services on Sundays: 8 a.m. & 11 a.m.

The museum displays the reliquary of the Holy Blood, clerical vestments and paintings.

ADDRESS : Burg 10, 8000 Brugge. Live map




A great experience! You are immersed in the ancient Mexican world of the Mayas and the Aztecs for whom chocolate was the drink of the gods and cocoa beans a means of payment.

The chocoholic gets to find out all about the production of chocolate truffles, chocolates, hollow figures and bars of chocolate.

Opening hours: daily between 10 a.m. and 5 p.m.

ADDRESS : Sint-Jansstraat 7b, 8000 Brugge. Live map


Diamond Museum 

This museum illustrates you the extraordinary history of Bruges as Europe’s oldest diamond centre. Visitors obtain information on the mysterious world of the diamond, one of Belgium’s most important export products.

ADDRESS : Katelijnestraat 43, 8000 Brugge, Live map

T. + 32 50 34 20 56, F. + 32 50 33 63 26


Ter Doest

Former Cistercian abbey (12th century) of which a massive 13th-century gothic barn, part of the older farm with pigeon-house (1651) and a monumental entrance gate (1662) still exist.

ADDRESS : Abdij Ter Doest, Ter Doeststraat 4, 8380 Lissewege

Bus nr. 791 Brugge-Zeebrugge (leaving from Bruges Railway station)
Train: Bus stop Railway station Lissewege


English Convent 

Typical domed church (1736-1739). T. + 32 50 33 43 35

ADDRESS : Engels Klooster,Carmersstraat 85, 8000 Brugge. Live map

T. + 32 50 50 33 24 24


Jerusalem Church 

Built in the 15th century according to the plans of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem. Worth seeing are a.o. the precious stained glass windows and the mausoleums of the church founders (Anselmus Adornes and his spouse).

ADDRESS : Peperstraat Live map


Lace centre 

Housed in the tastefully restored almshouses founded by the Adornes family. Lace demonstrations are frequently given, whereas in the museum-shop all materials for lace-making can be purchased.

ADDRESS : Kantcentrum, Peperstraat 3A, 8000 Brugge (entrance next to Jerusalem Church) Live map

T. + 32 50 33 00 72 / F. + 32 50 33 04 17

Lumina Domestica Top

The Museum of Lighting lets you experience the entire history of artificial lighting. This long story begins with the torch and the oil lamp and evolves over more than 400.000 years to the electric bulb and the LED. The visitor has access to the world’s largest collection of lamps. It comprises more than 6,000 items.

ADDRESS : Wijnzakstraat 2 8000 Brugge  Live map
tel. & fax 050/61 22 37

St. George’s Archers Guild 

The crossbow archers of St. George’s preserve valuable archives as well as a unique collection of crossbows.

ADDRESS : Sint-Joris Gilde, Stijn Streuvelsstraat 59, 8000 Brugge Live map

Tel. 050/33.54.08


St. Saviour’s Cathedral 

Bruges’ oldest parish church (12th-15th century). Worth seeing are the gobelins, mausoleums in the choir, rood-loft with organ (1619-1717), choir stalls and numerous fine paintings. 

Cathedral ’s treasury: Paintings by, among others, Dirk Bouts, Hugo van der Goes, manuscripts, copper memorial plaques and silver and gold artefacts.

Live map


St. Sebastian’s Archers’ Guild 

The members of this ancient and honourable long-bow archers’ guild treasure valuable paintings, important archives and reminders of the membership of Belgian and British monarchs.

ADDRESS : Sint-Sebastiaangilde, Carmersstraat 174, 8000 Brugge Live map
T. + 32 50 33 16 26

St. Trudo Abbey Male 

Former castle of the Counts of Flanders, with a 14th-15th century keep. Restored and enlarged from 1952 to 1972. Today convent of the canonesses of the Holy Sepulchre. Near the Abbey is the former town hall of Male (the ’Hooghe Huus") and an ancient pillory ("pelderijn").

ADDRESS : St.-Trudo Abdij Male, Pelderijnstraat 14, 8310 Brugge (St.-Kruis), Live map

T. + 32 50 36 70 20 

New Architecture

Concertgebouw (Concert Hall) 

The large concert hall for Bruges

Budget, significance and impact mean that the building is inseparably linked with the "European City of Culture of 2002" project.

The design criteria for the concert building related to openness and adventure, innovation and a modern image but also to safety and functionality.

The architects, Paul Robbrecht & Hilde Daem, had to take into account an existing, familiar and respected cityscape on the one hand and the ambition of the city to use this project to mark an important cultural moment in a contemporary way for the future on the other.

The result is a sometimes surprising and creative ode to Bruges and the city’s dreams. The building has an overall size of 120 metres by 50 metres. An eye-catching feature is the so-called ’Lantern Tower’, which is slightly separate from the main volume and is 28 metres and eight storeys high and overlooks the Zand. In this tower is a chamber music hall with seats for 300.

In the actual concert building the large auditorium seats 1300. Every year more than 100 truly top attractions in the area of classical music, jazz, musical theatre, visual arts, … will take place there.

You can attend a performance for as little as 10 euros!

Info and tickets

T. +32 70 22 33 02

ADDRESS : Concertgebouw Brugge vzw, ’t Zand 34, 8000 Brugge Live map


Barge Bridge 

The pedestrian Barge Bridge links Bargeplein at the edge of the city with the entrance to Minnewater Park. The bridge, with its girders painted red, is an example of asymmetrical architecture.

The Dutch designers (West8 urban design & landscape architecture bv) opted for a bridge in the form of a reptile that you can climb. Next to the bridge is a small building containing public toilets and partly protected by a shelter. Thus a new meeting place for tourists arriving by bus is turned into a very pleasant location from which to start a visit to the city.

Live map



With the bridge over the Coupure by the Swiss Jürg Conzett the egg of Bruges (the city ramparts) is once again complete. Now no one needs to walk or drive round. The bridge is a contemporary example of technology, an architectural gem and a masterpiece of inventiveness. The bridge is perfectly integrated in the Bruges landscape of the former city walls.

Live map



Brewery De Halve Maan
‘Brugse Zot’ is the pride of the traditional brewery ‘De Halve Maan’, whose earliest reference dates back to 1546. It is a tasty beer of high fermentation made of malt, hops and yeast. If you wish to learn more about the production process and the history of the brewery, you can join a guided tour and try the beer.

ADDRESS : Brouwerij De Halve Maan, Walplein 26, 8000 Brugge Live map
T. +32 50 33 26 97

Tourist atractions for Children

A lot of the children will definitely appreciate a boat trip on the canals or a horse-drawn cab tour.

The littlest ones can play to their heart’s content in the city park playgrounds: Astridpark, Sebrechts Park and Visartpark.

There is even a guided walking tour for kids (only for primary schools!). Reservations required at least one week in advance at the "Westvlaamse Gidsenkring": Tel.: 050/34.65.46, Fax: 050/34.53.95, e-mail:

Some museums are greatly suitable for children:

For most children, climbing the 366 steps of the Belfry will be quite an interesting challenge. The Folklore Museum and Bruges’ windmills will appeal to all children.

Not all children will enjoy the collection of the Groeninge Museum. Especially for them, we have created a play area with a playhouse, so that their parents can visit the museum in the best possible circumstances.

Also the museum Choco-story (chocolat museum) is worth visiting.


The outskirts of Bruges.


There are also some interesting places to visit in the outskirts of Bruges :



Legeweg 88, 8200 Sint-Andries,

T.+32 50 31 89 50 (indoor playground) or +32 478 22 69 29

Diksmuidestraat 5, 8000 Brugge,

T. +32 50 34 84 27
Children’s farm "De Zeven Torentjes"

Canadaring 41, 8310 Assebroek,

T. +32 50 35 40 43
Boudewijn Seapark

A.Debaeckestraat 12, 8200, Sint-Michiels,

T. +32 50 38 38 38 (theme park with dolfinarium),
Provincial Estate Tillegembos

(forest with playground and cafeteria)
City Park Beisbroek

(country park with planetarium)

(forest with wildlife reserve) situated between Bruges and Maldegem.


Swimming :


Swimming pool Jan Guillini

Lauwerstraat 15, 8000 Brugge, T. +32 50 31 35 54
The olympic swimming pool "Olympia"

Doornstraat 110, 8200 Brugge, T. +32 50 39 02 00 (with slide)
Swimming pool Interbad

Veltemweg 35, 8310 Brugge, T. +32 50 35 07 77 (with slide)

Public Gardens

Baron Ruzettepark

a small garden near Komvest (ring road)

Graaf Visartpark

also a small park. A traffic circuit for children gives them the opportunity to learn every day traffic rules.

Koning Albertpark

walking from the train station to the centre you will appreciate the beauty of this park.

Koningin Astridpark

the green long of the centre (the locals call it "De botanieken hof" (the botanical garden)) at Minderbroederstraat.


a very charming park near Minnewater (Lake of Love) and Begijnhof (Beguinage)

In summer open air concerts take place here regularly.

Pastoor Verhaegheplantsoen

a less known park in the vicinity of Ezelstraat and Raamstraat.

Stadspark Sebrechts

in this park every year an exhibition of sculptures takes place (near Oude Zak and Beenhouwersstraat).

The old city walls

worth exploring.


St. Saviour’s Cathedral

Church of our Lady

St. James Church

Holy Magdalena Church

St. Giles’ Church

St. Walburga Church

St. Anne’s Church

Holy Blood Chappel

Jerusalem Church

Beguinage Church

St. Godelieve Church

Church of Our Lady Potterie

Church of Our Lady Blindekens

Flemisch Art Collection

Home of the Masters

The Flemish Primitives, Rubens, Van Dyck, Ensor... Although these artists are known and exhibited all over the world, the most comprehensive collections of their work are still to be found in their former home. The Antwerp Royal Museum of Fine Arts, the Groeninge Museum in Bruges and the Ghent Museum of Fine Arts portray the history of visual arts in Flanders from the 15th to the 21st century. Their collections have known a parallel historical growth and they complement each other perfectly. Together, they form the Flemish Art Collection. In Antwerp, Bruges and Ghent art is coupled with the art of living. Historic scenery with room for contemporary ideas is the formula for the unique surroundings of these Flemish art cities. Places where you can thoroughly enjoy culture, atmosphere and gastronomic delights.

Museums : Program 2007-2010


until October 7th > EXHIBITION: ’Exotic Primitives’
until October 8th > PHOTOGRAPHS ’Malou Swinnen’
until 2009 > EXHIBITION: ‘Leuven loans’
September ’07 - May ’08 > ’Heimo Zobernig. Work in progress’ EXHIBITION PROJECT
September 21 - November 25th > EXHIBITION: ’Stijn Streuvels and The Flax Field’
October 19th 2007 - January 6th 2008 > EXHIBITION ’Bruges – Paris – Rome: Joseph-Benoît Suvée and neo-classicism in Europe’
December 16th > Mid-winter Celebrations


until January 2008 > EXHIBITION ’Bruges – Paris – Rome: Joseph-Benoît Suvée and neo-classicism in Europe’
until May ’08 > ’Heimo Zobernig. Work in progress’ EXHIBITION PROJECT
until 2009 > EXHIBITION: ‘Leuven loans’
spring 2008 > EXHIBITION ’Baroque bozzetti from Austria’
spring 2008 > EXHIBITION ’Günter Brus’
Summer 2008 - Exhibition "Stradanus (1523-1607), artist at the Medici court"
inter 2008-2009 > exhibition: ‘InterLace’ (provisional title)


Summer 2008 - Exhibition "Stradanus (1523-1607), artist at the Medici court"


Exhibition “From Van Eyck to Dürer. The Flemish Primitives and the East, 1430 – 1530”


Secure online hotel Acacia booking, Hotel Acacia Brugge, Acacia Brugge Hotel, member of Hotels Bruges
Each Best Western® hotel is independently owned and operated.
The World's Largest Hotel Chain®
webdesign: stardekk ×